Skip to Main Content

Digital Life @ Polys: Home



19 April to 21 May 2021
The Poly Libraries welcome you aboard! Together as a BIG Poly family, we bring to you our inaugural flagship event on Digital Life @ PolysTM to champion digital and media literacy. Join our power-packed activities to stay ahead in your studies!

Power Up your learning!





“Hi! I am Mike and I’m with my learning buddy, AL. Together, we are the Poly Libraries’ ambassadors of Digital Life @ PolysTM”


Get to Know Us

Top Notch Spaces

Discover the spaces at Poly Libraries - Cater to all your needs.

Discover!
Lifestyle Library
From Fiction to Lifeskills, Sports to Comics, there is a wide range of titles to suit your tastebuds. Keep yourself updated with trends in fashion, entertainment and food through the lifestyle magazines.
iSpace
Equipped with writable wall and interactive projector to support group learning and discussion. The room can accommodate up to 12 people.
Smart Cube
Equipped with writable wall, writable table and TV projector to support group learning and discussion. Each room can accommodate up to 6 people.
Lien Ying Chow Gallery
Learn from Dr Lien’s rags-to-riches story and his legendary business acumen. Browse titles on successful Asian entrepreneurs. Be inspired to emulate Dr Lien’s qualities of perseverance, tenacity, philanthropy and humility, fire up your entrepreneurial spirit, achieve your own greatness and give back to society.
Lifestyle Hub
Located at Level 4 Centre Wing provides a comfortable space for interaction, relaxation and leisure reading. Here, you can enjoy student performances, exhibitions of students' works and even catch up with friends over your favourite cuppa.
Quiet Zone
A brightly-lit, modern and comfortable space, Quiet Zone is designed to cater to your varied learning styles and meet the growing demand for more study spaces at the Library.
Reading Lounge
Located adjacent to the Library, this well-designed and inviting space provides a cozy and student-centred environment for you to engage in individual study and collaborative learning.
Smart Learning Hub
This open, light-filled space embraces a modern minimalist twist, offering a variety of comfortable seating options. It houses 9 techno-rich study rooms - Smart Learning Spaces to support your group discussion and collaborative work!
Group Discussion Areas
10 rooms available for collaborative learning at Level 4 and Level 5 within Library, they are discussion rooms, project rooms and learning pods.
Level 2, Discovery
Exhibition space, new arrivals, newspapers & journals, education & career guidance/ scholarship corner, pods.
Level 3, Business
Books on business, programme zone, quiet zone, pods.
Level 4, Da Vinci
Books on architecture, building & design, exhibition gallery, drawing room, pods.
Colours
Multi-purpose space for programmes, activities and learning.
Self-Study Zone
Spanning levels 6 to 8, the Self-Study Zone is a quiet area that houses our Open Shelf collection. Most of the printed materials can be found on these levels, including Level 6 which has fiction, magazines and newspapers. You may even see Robbie--our inventory robot--quietly scanning the shelves!
Pods
Need a semi-closed space to discuss your projects? Book a pod in advance for your group discussion at Levels 4 and 5. Find out more.
Assistive Technology Library
Students with special educational needs will be able to test and borrow assistive technology devices at Level 2. These include devices for assistive listening, augmentative communication and visual aids. Link to more information and online form.
Temasek Gallery
Gain insights into TP's growth and accolades received over the last 30 years. Pen your best memory and wishes for TP at the Memory Wall, or hang out at the Colliseum while watching short films produced by your peers. Located at Level 9 (virtual tour).


Personalised Services

Come discover the Poly Services to support your learning.

Try it
Loan Services
Find out more about your loan privileges.
Request A Resource
Make a request if you require journal articles or titles which are not part of the Library's collection for projects/assignments, development of teaching materials etc.
Recommend A Title
Make a recommendation if a title is not available in the Library.
Borrowing Library Materials
As a NYP student, you are automatically a Library member and will be able to borrow up to to 15 items. Check out more about your loan privileges via the Library Portal!
Smart Locker
Introduced in April 2019, Smart Locker, the next generation self-service dispenser, offers an innovative and convenient way for you to access library materials beyond the Library’s operating hours. You can borrow, collect and return library materials ranging from high demand books, reserved items to our ‘Library of Things’ collection of learning kits and gadgets at your convenience!
Curated Resources
Explore and discover resources specially curated by the Librarians to support your learning and research needs!
Request for Consultation and Workshop
Library conducts information literacy programmes to promote the effective use of information resources. Book an appointment with the Librarians to help you in finding useful resources for your studies and research.
Request from Other Libraries
You can request for journal articles via the Document Delivery Service or request for books from other local libraries in the form of InterLibrary Loan Service.
Set Up Library PIN
Set your Library PIN so you can borrow books, magazines and more!
Recommend Titles
Relevant resource not found in library? Request Library to purchase!
Get Help for your Project
If you are feeling lost or unsure how to start your research project, don’t hesitate to meet your school librarians. In a short session, they will point you towards relevant resources and a sound research strategy.
Self pickup locker
Pick up your reserved book even after Library opening hours!
Ask Library Chatbot
Get instant answers to FAQs about the library! If you have questions about services, resources and facilities, the chatbot can assist you any time, any where.
Project Advisory Service for Students
Stuck with your project? Contact TP Librarians for help with searching for reliable information sources!
E-Exam Paper Delivery Service
Want to check out past-year exam papers? Submit your request and we will email you the PDFs by the next working day. In case you're wondering, answers are not provided. :)
Document Delivery Request
Request for journal articles or book chapters not available in the library. Document requested must be for study or research purposes and supported by your lecturer.


Virtual Tour

Bringing to you a virtual tour of the Poly Libraries. Watch the recorded sessions of our Live Tour!

Register





D.R.E.A.M.S



Digital & Media Literacy

Skills to construct search strategy, find the right tools, evaluate, use appropriate information, manage and share information.






WELLNESS


Positive Well-Being in Cyber Space
Learn the tips to maintain a positive digital identity, footprints, communication and protect oneself against digital threats.


Digital Footprints
Leave positive digital footprints behind
 
Media and Persuasion
Be smart about what you see in advertisements
 
Public Shaming
Learn not to humiliate anyone online
 
Online Scams
Don’t be fooled by online scams!
 


Feeling Deflated?

Stay optimistic and practice positivity to help keep your worries and stress at bay. We have put together some curated resources to uplift your spirits.



 

 

Contact your Counsellor





RESOURCES

Find Relevant Resources

The library has print, electronic and multimedia resources to meet your personal and academic needs.

Books & more…
Need more materials?

Search Catalogue
Need help in searching?

See Help



Databases

Articles, e-Books, Videos for your projects/assignments


 

 

 


See more recommended resources

Recommended resources
Digital Library Toolkit
Access to tailored e-resources for your Diploma. Includes Library’s e-resources and free resources from NLB & Publishers.
Exam Papers (Past)
Search for archives of exam papers.
See instruction on Log in
ProQuest Ebook Central
Covers e-books across multi-disciplinary subjects. The ebooks can be read online through the browser or downloaded as PDF (chapter by chapter). upon approval. You may also read offline via the Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) application on your desktop or mobile devices. The staff's NICE laptop is already installed with the ADE app.
See User Guide
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning provides video-based instruction covering software, creative and business skills.
See User Guide
MEDLINE Complete
The largest companion to the MEDLINE index, this full-text database provides access to biomedical and health journals. It is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
See User Guide
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides articles, drug information and ebooks for point of care, research and more. Mobile application available.
See User Guide
Statista
Provides statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 trustworthy sources worldwide. Downloadable in 4 common formats: xls, png, ppt and pdf.
See User Guide
CITI Program
This web-based program provides research education content covering many curricular areas, including good clinical practice suitable for research teams involved in clinical trials of drugs, biologics and devices; principles of biosafety and biosecurity; responsible conduct of research for the biomedical sciences, engineering, the humanities, and more.
See User Guide
EIU Country Analysis Advanced
This database provides EIU's country and global analysis which consists of country reports, country forecast, country commerce, industry reports, global outlook, world commodity forecast, country data, market indicators & forecast as well as world commodity data.
See User Guide
Lippincott Procedures
The database provides real-time access to step-by-step guides for evidence-based procedures and skills in a variety of specialty settings. It includes patient instructions, skills checklist, hundreds of video clips, images, illustrations and more.
NewsLink
An online newspaper archival service, which offers archived news articles and information from 19 newspapers published by Singapore Press Holdings, including The Straits Times, Business Times, New Paper, Berita Harian, Berita Minggu (Malay), Lianhe ZaoBao and more.
Statista
This database provides access to over 1.5 million statistics and studies on a wide variety of topics and covering 170 industries. It contains dossiers, forecasts, industry reports, company data and infographics.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Ebook Central is a collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers comprising more than 16,000 titles. This resource provides coverage of all scholarly disciplines which includes Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Engineering & Technology, Life Sciences, Medicine and Social Sciences.
ScienceDirect
Collection of science, technology and medicine books, journals and abstracts including over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals and over 2,000 authoritative books, reference works, handbooks and book series. The books cover the core disciplines of life, physical, health and social sciences and humanities. Full-text articles are available for titles subscribed by the Library.
See User Guide
Passport
Contains internationally comparable statistics on industries, countries and consumers; forward looking analysis from global, regional, country and company perspectives; insightful comment from expert analysts; daily updates of latest research for 205 countries. Includes the Economic Observer database which incorporates short-term macro-economic indicators across 52 countries.
See User Guide
LinkedIn Learning
An online library of instructional videos on software applications (including 3ds Max, After Effects, Dreamweaver, Excel, Flash, HTML, Illustrator, InDesign, Office and Photoshop), creative, education and business skills.
See User Guide
Statista
More than 80,000 multi-disciplinary topics, includes statistics and industry reports from 22 sectors and 170 industries, with special emphasis on digital markets (Media, Advertising, eCommerce, Fintech, Smart Home etc). It contains infographics, reports of studies from market research institutions as well as dossiers (special theme insights).
See User Guide
ScienceDirect
A leading source for scientific research, ScienceDirect contains peer-reviewed articles from thousands of scholarly journals.
See User Guide
Gartner Core Research
Contains reports, case studies, and best practices about technological products, services, trends, issues, and vendors.
See User Guide
EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with magazine and journal articles. Use EBSCOhost to search for topics ranging from business to psychology and the social sciences.
See User Guide
O'Reilly Safari
Contains mostly technology and business related e-books and videos in the form of case studies, playlists and learning paths.
See User Guide


Need even more resources?

See full list



How to Use the Databases?

Need help in using the databases?
Watched the following recorded videos!



 

 

 

 

 



1-to-1 Chat

We are here to help. Chat with our librarians from 17 to 21 May between 1.00pm to 3.00pm.


Chat here





PLAGIARISM & COPYRIGHT

Academic Honesty

What must I do to ensure I do not get accused of plagiarising or infringing copyright or be accused of dishonesty?


Plagiarism
Wrongfully taking credit for someone else's work and "stealing" the contents of their assignment or creative work is the same thing - it doesn't belong to you. And your might get zero marks!

 

Copyright
Copyright matters! Avoid infringing copyright when you work on your assignments and projects.







SKILLS+


Ready to power up your skills?

Want to stay ahead in your study and career? Attend the virtual talks on 21st century skills!

(Recorded sessions will be available to view on-demand after the live session)




Images as Creative Expressions by 123RF
Behind the Scenes: Considerations and Challenges in Making Editorial Decisions by SPH
How to avoid Plagiarism and Copyright Infringement by CLTE/NP
Rock your profile and elevate your skills by LinkedIn Learning
Beyond Skills by MLC-NUS
Safety What you do not know Hurts by TP
Living Creativity by NYP
Traditional Stress and Mental Health by TP
InfoSkills On-Demand
Images as Creative Expressions by 123RF
Behind the Scenes: Considerations and Challenges in Making Editorial Decisions by SPH
How to avoid Plagiarism and Copyright Infringement by CLTE/NP
InfoSkills On-Demand

Rock your profile and elevate your skills by LinkedIn Learning
Living Creativity by NYP
Beyond Skills by MLC-NUS
Safety What you do not know Hurts by TP
Traditional Stress and Mental Health by TP






Curated Resources




Read now





Let’s have some Fun!