PESTLE
Internet Resources
LinkedIn Learning Videos
LinkedIn Learning - provides access to bite-sized video tutorials covering the areas of architecture, business strategy, cloud computing, digital marketing, design, data analysis, communication, leadership, Microsoft Office and others.
Steps to access LinkedIn Learning
1. Login Here
2. Click 'Continue without LinkedIn' on the Welcome page.
3. Click 'Do not connect my account'
ONLINE VIDEO COURSE - How to use LinkedIn Learning
MOBILE ACCESS GUIDE - LinkedIn Mobile App | iOS | Android & Tablet
- Assess external environment: PESTLE [3m 21s]
This video looks at he first strategic planning technique - PESTLE. You may also see it as PEST or PESTEL. The letters stand for political, economic, sociological, technological, legal, and environmental. - Environmental scanning [3m 59s]
Strategic planning involves gathering information about the business environment and identifying themes. Two commonly used ES techniques SWOT analysis and a PESTLE analysis. - The purpose and value of PESTLE analysis [4m 16s]
PESTLE analysis is a tool used to gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of the macro environment and strategically assess your place in it. - Setting up for PESTLE analysis [5m 6s]This video shows how to set up for PESTLE analysis.
- What is a SWOT analysis? [2m 36s]
SWOT analysis is a management tool that enables a leadership team to manage change. SWOT refers to strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. - Conducting a SWOT Analysis [47m]This video shows you how to use the incredibly simple yet powerful SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats) methodology to evaluate your company’s footing and develop a strategic business plan.
- SWOT analysis for your marketing plan
A SWOT analysis is a traditionally used form for many marketing plans, especially at larger brands and corporations. It will assist you in formulating a plan to enable you to make the best use of your resources. SWOT stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats.
Journal articles
- Identifying the Main Opportunities and Challenges from the Implementation of a Port Energy Management System: A SWOT/PESTLE Analysisby Anastasia Christodoulou and Kevin Cullinane.Sustainability 2019, 11(21),A SWOT/PESTLE analysis is utilized for the identification of the political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental factors that have a positive or negative effect on the adoption and successful implementation of a port energy management system.
Books/ Ebooks
Databases
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva's news and business information includes Dow Jones, Reuters and The Wall Street Journal, plus other global sources which provide news, historical articles, market research, investment analyst reports and stock quotes.
Access instructions: For more info, go to https://sp-sg.libguides.com/eresourcesguide/Factiva
Available to SP students and staff only. - Fitch Connect This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth market research reports (including industry and country forecast reports, country risk reports), industry risk ratings, macroeconomic and industry specific indicators on 22 industry sectors and 198 countries.
Available to SP students and staff only. - Passport This link opens in a new windowContains internationally comparable statistics on industries, countries and consumers forward looking analysis from global, regional, country and company perspectives insightful comment from expert analysts daily updates of latest research for 205 countries. Includes the Economic Observer database which incorporates short-term macro-economic indicators across 52 countries.
Available to SP students and staff only.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowThe database covers more than 80,000 multi-disciplinary topics, includes statistics and industry reports from 22 sectors and 170 industries, with special emphasis on digital markets (Media, Advertising, eCommerce, Fintech, Smart Home etc). It contains infographics, reports of studies from market research institutions as well as dossiers (special theme insights). The statistics for all industries and topics is updated and extended daily.
Available to SP students and staff SP Graduate, Personal and Retiree Library Members (on designated terminals) only.
More Info
eLearning
Videos