Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SP Library

Citation Guide: Other Major Style Guides

Other Styles

AMA (American Medical Association) Style

Used in medical, health, and biological sciences publications.
References

AMA Manual of Style
- Provides excerpts, downloadable index and FAQs for the latest edition of the manual 

APA (American Psychological Association) Style

Often used in writings in psychology, education, and other social sciences.
References Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
- Available at Main Lending

APA Style.org
- Provides tips, FAQs and guidelines for citing electronic resources 

Chicago Style

Often used with all subjects in books, magazines, newspapers, and other non-scholarly publications.
References The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
- Available at Main Reference

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Features tools, Q&A section and a citation quick guide 

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Style

Used in IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters.
References IEEE Editorial Style Manual
- Provides editorial guidelines for authors to submit an article to IEEE 

MLA (Modern Language Association of America) Style

Frequently used in literature, arts, and humanities publications.
References MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.)
- Available at Main Reference

What is MLA Style?
- Provides brief information about the MLA style and links to FAQs about the MLA Handbook and MLA Style Manual 

Oxford Referencing Style

Uses footnotes to place references at the end of each page.
References Oxford: A Brief Guide
- A quick guide to the Oxford referencing style, provided by Victoria University Library.

Referencing Using the Documentary-note (Oxford) Style
- Explains some of the common applications of the Oxford style of referencing. Provided by Deakin University.

The Footnote/ Bibliography or 'Oxford' Referencing System
- Presents an introduction to the Footnote/ Bibliography system, also known as the Oxford system or the Documentary/ Note system. Provided by The Learning Centre, University of New South Wales. 

Turabian Style

Similar to the Chicago style, but modified for the needs of student writers.
References A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (7th ed.)
- Available at Main Lending

Turabian Quick Guide
- Provides examples of materials commonly cited 

Contact SP Library

Hello