LibGuides: SMA FYP Guide: Home

Ever wondered what information literacy is about? Try out:

Here's how to access our modules on information literacy:

Go to POLITEMall > General Modules > Search for "Information literacy".

Information Literacy - The Basics

Information Literacy - Thinking Deeper

Information Literacy - Deepening Skills

Resources

E-Books

More e-resources

Databases

- Collection of information (e.g. e-journal articles) stored in an electronic format that can be searched.

Video Tutorials

The featured producers include BBC, CNBC, Cambridge Educational, Films for the Humanities & Sciences and Meridian Educational on various subjects such as social sciences, science and technology.

Online Training Library® of instructional videos on software applications including:

3ds Max
Excel
Flash
HTML
Office
Photoshop

A collection of 190 online videos from SafetyMax - a global leader in safety training products and services.

Topics include: fire awareness, first aid and welfare, hand and power tools, hazardous environments and manual handling. MaxTrax collection is now available as well.

Student Projects

Useful Resources for Project Work - Interviewing Skills, Surveys & Project Presentation

Videos
Books

Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research by Willem E. Saris; Irmtraud N. Gallhofer Praise for the First Edition '...this book is quite inspiring, giving many practical ideas for survey research, especially for designing better questionnaires.' ?International Statistical Review Reflecting modern developments in the field of survey research, the Second Edition of Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research continues to provide cutting-edge analysis of the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process. The new edition covers the essential methodologies and statistical tools utilized to create reliable and accurate survey questionnaires, which unveils the relationship between individual question characteristics and overall question quality. Since the First Edition, the computer program Survey Quality Prediction (SQP) has been updated to include new predictions of the quality of survey questions on the basis of analyses of Multi-Trait Multi-Method experiments. The improved program contains over 60,000 questions, with translations in most European languages. Featuring an expanded explanation of the usage and limitations of SQP 2.0, the Second Edition also includes: ? New practice problems to provide readers with real-world experience in survey research and questionnaire design ? A comprehensive outline of the steps for creating and testing survey questionnaires ? Contemporary examples that demonstrate the many pitfalls of questionnaire design and ways to avoid similar decisions Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses in methodology and research questionnaire planning, as well as an ideal resource for social scientists or survey researchers needing to design, evaluate, and analyze questionnaires.   Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses in methodology and research questionnaire planning, as well as an ideal resource for social scientists or survey researchers needing to design, evaluate, and analyze questionnaires.Reflecting modern developments in the field of survey research, the Second Edition of Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research continues to provide cutting-edge analysis of the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process. The new edition covers the essential methodologies and statistical tools utilized to create reliable and accurate survey questionnaires, which unveils the relationship between individual question characteristics and overall question quality. Since the First Edition, the computer program Survey Quality Prediction (SQP) has been updated to include new predictions of the quality of survey questions on the basis of analyses of Multi-Trait Multi-Method experiments. The improved program contains over 60,000 questions, with translations in most European languages. Featuring an expanded explanation of the usage and limitations of SQP 2.0, the Second Edition also includes: ? New practice problems to provide readers with real-world experience in survey research and questionnaire design ? A comprehensive outline of the steps for creating and testing survey questionnaires ? Contemporary examples that demonstrate the many pitfalls of questionnaire design and ways to avoid similar decisions Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses in methodology and research questionnaire planning, as well as an ideal resource for social scientists or survey researchers needing to design, evaluate, and analyze questionnaires. WILLEM E. SARIS, PhD, is Emeritus Professor in Methodology of the University of Amsterdam and the Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona. He is Laureate of the 2005 Descartes Prize for ?Best Collaborative Research? as member of the Central Coordinating Team of the European Social Survey (ESS) and Recipient of the World Association of Public Opinion Research's ?Helen Dinerman Award? in 2009 for his lifelong contribution to the methodology of Opinion Research. Dr. Saris also received the ?2013 Outstanding Service Prize? of the European Survey Research Association. IRMTRAUD N. GALLHOFER, PhD, is a linguist and was senior researcher on projects of the ESS, Research and Expertise Centre for Survey Methodology at the Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona. She is Laureate of the 2005 Descartes Prize for ?Best Collaborative Research? as a member of the Central Coordinating Team of the ESS.Reflecting modern developments in the field of survey research, the Second Edition of Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research continues to provide cutting-edge analysis of the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process. The new edition covers the essential methodologies and statistical tools utilized to create reliable and accurate survey questionnaires, which unveils the relationship between individual question characteristics and overall questio
Call Number: www
ISBN: 9781118634615
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys by Don A. Dillman; Leah Melani Christian; Jolene D. Smyth The classic survey design reference, updated for the digital age For over two decades, Dillman's classic text on survey design has aided both students and professionals in effectively planning and conducting mail, telephone, and, more recently, Internet surveys. The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, and covers all aspects of survey research. It features expanded coverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourself surveys, and Dillman's unique Tailored Design Method is also thoroughly explained. This invaluable resource is crucial for any researcher seeking to increase response rates and obtain high-quality feedback from survey questions. Consistent with current emphasis on the visual and aural, the new edition is complemented by copious examples within the text and accompanying website. This heavily revised Fourth Edition includes: Strategies and tactics for determining the needs of a given survey, how to design it, and how to effectively administer it How and when to use mail, telephone, and Internet surveys to maximum advantage Proven techniques to increase response rates Guidance on how to obtain high-quality feedback from mail, electronic, and other self-administered surveys Direction on how to construct effective questionnaires, including considerations of layout The effects of sponsorship on the response rates of surveys Use of capabilities provided by newly mass-used media: interactivity, presentation of aural and visual stimuli. The Fourth Edition reintroduces the telephone--including coordinating land and mobile. Grounded in the best research, the book offers practical how-to guidelines and detailed examples for practitioners and students alike.
Call Number: www
ISBN: 9781118456149
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
TED Talks by Chris J. Anderson New York Times Bestseller  "Catnip for all the TED fans out there." --Publishers Weekly "The most insightful book ever written on public speaking . . . a must-read." --Adam Grant, Wharton professor and New York Times best-selling author of Give and Take and Originals Since taking over TED in 2001, Chris Anderson has shown how carefully crafted talks can be the key to unlocking empathy, spreading knowledge, and promoting a shared dream. Done right, a talk can electrify a room and transform an audience's worldview; it can be more powerful than anything in written form. This "invaluable guide" (Publishers Weekly) explains how the miracle of powerful public speaking is achieved, and equips you to give it your best shot. There is no set formula, but there are tools that can empower any speaker.  Chris Anderson has worked with all the TED speakers who have inspired us the most, and here he shares insights from such favorites as Sir Ken Robinson, Salman Khan, Monica Lewinsky and more -- everything from how to craft your talk's content to how you can be most effective on stage. This is a must-read for anyone who is ready to create impact with their ideas.  
Call Number: www
ISBN: 9780544664364
Publication Date: 2016-05-03

Useful Resources on Project Proposal & Report Writing

Videos
Books

The College Student's Guide to Writing a Great Research Paper by Erika Eby Each semester, millions of college students are required to write research papers for class. Staring at a blank word processing document on your computer screen can create an uneasy feeling, especially as you wish for words to magically fill your 20-page assignment. For the majority of college students, whether you go to Harvard or to community college, this is a universal feeling. This complete guide was created just for you âe" the college student. In this new book, you will learn tips for formatting your research paper, as well as how to complete a cohesive, well-structured assignment for any college course. The College Studentâe(tm)s Guide to Writing a Great Research Paper will walk you through the entire process of writing a research paper, from choosing a topic, to conducting your research, to writing and editing each draft of the assignment. You will learn how to properly use the library, as well as tricks for finding relevant and credible articles, books, and online sources. This comprehensive guide then takes you a step further, with information on how to check your work for plagiarism and eliminate it from your paper altogether as you learn how to use your research as a source to support your thesis. Filled with tips for finding reputable sources and conducting research efficiently, even English majors will find this guide useful in defining a focused thesis and developing it throughout an entire paper, regardless of the required word count. Using the step-by-step instructions and writing guidelines offered in this book, you will learn how to manage your time while simultaneously mastering the basics âe" choosing a unique topic, taking notes from your research and incorporating them into your writing, and citing sources in MLA or APA style (or styles laid out by other reference manuals). Get your creative juices flowing with our list of prompts, or compare your work or outline to samples from real research papers; then polish your paper off with grammar and style tips from professional editors. Use the checklists included in this book to make sure your paper measures up to any grading criteria, as you learn how to keep your paper consistent in style, tone, punctuation, capitalization, verb tense, and more. This book is filled with hundreds of hints, tricks, and secrets on how to make your research paper stand out in the stack. We spent hundreds of hours interviewing successful college graduates and professors to compile the exclusive tips you need to know to get that perfect score. Atlantic Publishing is a small, independent publishing company based in Ocala, Florida. Founded over twenty years ago in the company presidentâe(tm)s garage, Atlantic Publishing has grown to become a renowned resource for non-fiction books. Today, over 450 titles are in print covering subjects such as small business, healthy living, management, finance, careers, and real estate. Atlantic Publishing prides itself on producing award winning, high-quality manuals that give readers up-to-date, pertinent information, real-world examples, and case studies with expert advice. Every book has resources, contact information, and web sites of the products or companies discussed. This Atlantic Publishing eBook was professionally written, edited, fact checked, proofed and designed. The print version of this book is 288 pages and you receive exactly the same content. Over the years our books have won dozens of book awards for content, cover design and interior design including the prestigious Benjamin Franklin award for excellence in publishing. We are proud of the high quality of our books and hope you will enjoy this eBook version.
Call Number: www
ISBN: 9781601388636
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
How to Complete a Successful Research Project by Kathleen McMillan; Jonathan D. B. Weyers A practical, step-by-step guide to planning, researching and writing a research project for undergraduate students approaching a research project for the first time. Undertaking a large-scale, original research project can be extremely daunting and challenging to any student. Using the tried-and-tested Smarter Student series approach, style and pedagogy to deliver timely, practical, hands-on guidance based on real-life experience from students and lecturers alike, this book will be an invaluable tutorial and reference for any student approaching an undergraduate or masters research project for the first time. This book will guide the student through all of the key areas that they will need to deliver a successful research project, providing practical guidance, examples and hints and tips for success on areas such as: Choosing a theme and topic for your research Writing the proposal Working with your supervisor Planning and managing your time and activity Analysing and evaluating data Successful academic writing styles and conventions Correct citing, referencing and avoiding plagiarism Ethics in research Researching and compiling the literature survey Methods of collecting and analysing data Writing-up and presenting your findings
Call Number: LB1047.3 Mcm
ISBN: 9780273773924
Publication Date: 2014-09-03
How to Write Reports and Proposals by Patrick Forsyth How to Write Reports and Proposals is essential reading for achieving effective writing techniques. Getting a message across on paper and presenting a proposal in a clear and persuasive form are vital skills for anyone in business. How to Write Reports and Proposals provides practical advice on how to impress, convince and persuade your colleagues or clients. It will help you: improve your writing skills; think constructively before writing; create a good report; produce persuasive proposals; use clear and distinctive language; present numbers, graphs and charts effectively. Full of checklists, exercises and real life examples, this new edition also contains content on how to write succinctly and with impact across different mediums. How to Write Reports and Proposals will help you to put over a good case with style. The creating success series of books... With over one million copies sold, the hugely popular Creating Success series covers a wide variety of topics and is written by an expert team of internationally best-selling authors and business experts. This indispensable business skills collection is packed with new features, practical content and inspiring guidance for readers across all stages of their careers.
Call Number: HF5719 For
ISBN: 9780749475734
Publication Date: 2016-07-03
Thinking on the Page by Martha Schulman; Gwen Hyman Take Charge of Your Writing--and Dazzle Your Instructors! It can be a challenge to achieve writing excellence, but it doesn't have to be mysterious, and it's definitely not impossible. To present powerful ideas effectively in your college essays, you need to break away from rigid rules and structures and start thinking on the page. With this book, you'll learn how to actively engage with a text, analyze it, draw informed conclusions, and then make solid claims about what you have observed. Thinking on the Page will also help you: Think critically about what you're reading and draw questions and ideas directly from the text Approach your essay as a story rather than a formula Work through your ideas by graphing, listing, charting, and drawing Incorporate relevant outside research Edit your final essay and polish it to perfection Whether you're in college or high school, you need to communicate your ideas effectively through writing. Thinking on the Page provides innovative tools tailored to the way you learn and write, enabling you to produce thoughtful, analytical, and meaningful work, both in school and beyond.
Call Number: www
ISBN: 9781599638737
Publication Date: 2015-03-23