More resources from SP Library.
Books / E-Books
Becoming a Critical Thinker by
Help your students develop a critical mindset with this practical guide. Becoming a Critical Thinker begins by unpicking where knowledge comes from before showing students how to recognise biases and approach evidence objectively. Subsequent chapters equip students with the tools to evaluate different sources of information, critique the literature and write persuasive, critical arguments of their own. A final chapter explores the value of critical thinking in the workplace. Throughout, real-world examples illustrate the value of critical thinking in both academia and everyday life, and activities allow students to put new skills into practice. Becoming a Critical Thinker is an essential introduction to critical thinking for undergraduates of all subject areas.
Critical Thinking by
Mistakes occur for many reasons. This book takes a hands-on approach to the reasons mistakes happen, analyzes the actual mistakes, and develops a strategy to reduce them. This book proposes error reduction strategies in human decision making and educates the reader to further reduce the likelihood of making a mistake. It provides error reduction strategies, describes various cost-effective methods for eliminating costly errors, and discusses Anthropometry, Crew Resource Management, Human Factors, Industrial Engineering, Scientific Management, and Usability and the role these topics play in the avoidance of mistakes. This book will be of interest to professionals and students in the areas of industrial engineering, human factors, logistics, quality control, manufacturing, human resources, and safety.
Fighting Falsehoods by
This book offers the reader tools to recognize, analyze, and fight back against the fake news, misinformation and disinformation that comes at us from every corner. This volume: Uses real, lively examples to help readers detect fake news, false claims, suspicious information/data, biased reporting, and hate speech; Demonstrates through case studies where to look for information, what to look for, how to analyze the logic/illogic involved, and uncover the truth value of a story; Discusses fact checking sites, what they examine, and their reliability; Provides examples and analyzes the components, purposes, and consequences of conspiracy theories; Illustrates the tricks of using numbers/data to mislead readers; Explains what to look for to help decide whether to believe the conclusions of stories based on surveys; Offers a range of concrete, effective responses to dangerous, exaggerated, distorted, and false narratives; Examines policy responses to fake news, disinformation, and misinformation across the world. A key manual to negotiate the information age, this book will be essential reading for students, scholars and professionals of journalism and mass communication, public policy, politics, and the social sciences. It will also be an indispensable handbook for the lay reader.
Getting Critical by
This concise, no-nonsense guide shows students how to adopt a critical approach in order to unlock their academic potential. It explains: - what 'getting critical' means - why students need to adopt a critical approach - how students can integrate critical analysis into their research, reading and writing Each succinct chapter is visually engaging and informative, and includes plenty of snippets of real students' work to show readers what good critical writing looks like. This 3rd edition has been updated throughout, and now contains new chapters on getting critical with numbers and critical appraisal, fresh examples from a wider range of assignments and more STEM examples. Getting Critical is an invaluable resource for all students who are required to write essays, reports and other pieces of extended writing as part of their course. It is also an ideal text to be used in conjunction with study skills programmes and critical thinking modules at Higher Education and Further Education level.
The Scout Mindset by
"...an engaging and enlightening account from which we all can benefit."--The Wall Street Journal A better way to combat knee-jerk biases and make smarter decisions, from Julia Galef, the acclaimed expert on rational decision-making. When it comes to what we believe, humans see what they want to see. In other words, we have what Julia Galef calls a "soldier" mindset. From tribalism and wishful thinking, to rationalizing in our personal lives and everything in between, we are driven to defend the ideas we most want to believe--and shoot down those we don't. But if we want to get things right more often, argues Galef, we should train ourselves to have a "scout" mindset. Unlike the soldier, a scout's goal isn't to defend one side over the other. It's to go out, survey the territory, and come back with as accurate a map as possible. Regardless of what they hope to be the case, above all, the scout wants to know what's actually true. In The Scout Mindset, Galef shows that what makes scouts better at getting things right isn't that they're smarter or more knowledgeable than everyone else. It's a handful of emotional skills, habits, and ways of looking at the world--which anyone can learn. With fascinating examples ranging from how to survive being stranded in the middle of the ocean, to how Jeff Bezos avoids overconfidence, to how superforecasters outperform CIA operatives, to Reddit threads and modern partisan politics, Galef explores why our brains deceive us and what we can do to change the way we think.
[E-book] Engaging Ideas by
Learn to design interest-provoking writing and critical thinking activities and incorporate them into your courses in a way that encourages inquiry, exploration, discussion, and debate, with Engaging Ideas, a practical nuts-and-bolts guide for teachers from any discipline. Integrating critical thinking with writing-across-the-curriculum approaches, the book shows how teachers from any discipline can incorporate these activities into their courses. This edition features new material dealing with genre and discourse community theory, quantitative/scientific literacy, blended and online learning, and other current issues.
[E-book] Logical Creative Thinking Methods by
Using a new, systematic framework, this illuminating book turns ideation into a task anybody with sound logic and a determination to learn can do, and do well, by separating the process from the outcome. In a competitive marketplace, all firms must constantly innovate to create sustained shareholder value. The main roadblock in innovation is ideation: the identification of value-creating ideas, often seen as the work of innately creative people. This first-of-its-kind textbook demonstrates that anyone can ideate through specific logical processes that require no creativity when used, but generate valuable and creative outcomes. To help students master and apply these methods, the book is filled with innovation examples across many sectors that can be explained and recreated using a specific LCT method. The book also includes exercises that enable readers to practice applying each method to solve real life innovation challenges. Upper-level undergraduate and postgraduate students of innovation, creativity, and new product development will appreciate the demystification of ideation into a problem that can be solved by applying a series of rigorous, defined methods that can be followed without ambiguity.
[E-book] The Power of Making Thinking Visible by
The long-awaited follow-up to Making Thinking Visible, provides new thinking routines, original research, and unique global case studies Visible Thinking--a research-based approach developed at Harvard's Project Zero - prompts and promotes students' thinking. This approach has been shown to positively impact student engagement, learning, and development as thinkers. Visible Thinking involves using thinking routines, documentation, and effective questioning and listening techniques to enhance learning and collaboration in any learning environment. The Power of Making Thinking Visible explains how educators can effectively use thinking routines and other tools to engage and empower students as learners and transform classrooms into places of deep learning. Building on the success of the bestselling Making Thinking Visible, this highly-anticipated new book expands the work of the original by providing 18 new thinking routines based on new research and work with teachers and students around the world. Original content explains how to use thinking routines to maximum effect in the classroom, engage students exploration of big ideas, link thinking routines to formative assessment, and more. Providing new research, new global case studies, and new practices, this book: Focuses on the power that thinking routines can bring to learning Provides practical insights on using thinking routines to facilitate student engagement Highlights the most effective techniques for using thinking routines in the classroom Identifies the skillsets and mindsets needed to truly make thinking visible Features actionable classroom strategies that can be applied across grade levels and content areas Written by researchers from Harvard's Project Zero, The Power of Making Thinking Visible: Using Routines to Engage and Empower Learners is an indispensable resource for K-12 educators and curriculum designers, higher education instructional designers and educators, and professional learning course developers.
Critical Thinking by
Written by international authorities on critical thinking, this book details an integrated, universal concept of critical thinking that is both substantive and applicable to any and every situation in which human thinking is necessary. It provides students with the basic intellectual tools needed for life-long learning, helping them understand the mind and how its three functions--thinking, feeling, motivating--influence one another. Critical Thinking fosters the development of fair-minded critical thinking and explores essential intellectual standards of clarity, precision, accuracy, logicalness, significance, depth, breadth, and fairness; the importance of skilled and deep questioning; and how to take thinking apart in order to find problems in thinking and then improve thinking. The fourth edition features Think for Yourself activities Glossary of critical thinking terms New chapter on argumentation New chapters on critical thinking in the professions (including critique of disciplines) Discussion of the Internet's effects on our lives Updated discussions of media bias and political propaganda, as well as egocentric and sociocentric thought as barriers to critical thinking The Foundation for Critical Thinking continually offers new supplementary resources on its website (www.CriticalThinking.org) and in its online critical thinking community (www.CriticalThinkingCommunity.org).
How to think : a guide for the perplexed by
How to Think is a contrarian treatise on why we're not as good at thinking as we assume - but how recovering this lost art can rescue our inner lives from the chaos of modern life.
|
