More resources from SP Library.
Books
Managing Diversity: toward a globally inclusive workplace by 
The 4 Stages of Psychological Safety: Defining the Path to Inclusion and Innovation by
This book is the first practical, hands-on guide that shows how leaders can build psychological safety in their organizations, creating an environment where employees feel included, fully engaged, and encouraged to contribute their best efforts and ideas. Perhaps the leader's most challenging task is to increase intellectual friction while decreasing social friction. When this doesn't happen and it becomes emotionally expensive to say what you truly think and feel, that lack of psychological safety triggers the self-censoring instinct, shuts down learning, and blocks collaboration and creativity. Timothy R. Clark, a former CEO, Oxford-trained social scientist, and organizational consultant, provides a research-based framework to help leaders transform their organizations into sanctuaries of inclusion and incubators of innovation. When leaders cultivate psychological safety, teams and organizations progress through four successive stages. Bridging Differences for Better Mentoringhoughtful and pragmatic guide demonstrates that if you banish fear, install true performance-based accountability, and create a nurturing environment that allows people to be vulnerable as they learn and grow, they will perform beyond your expectations.
Teaching in Today's Inclusive Classrooms: a Universal Design for Learning Approach by
Concise and accessible, Gargiulo/Metcalf's TEACHING IN TODAY'S INCLUSIVE CLASSROOMS: A UNIVERSAL DESIGN FOR LEARNING APPROACH, 4th edition, equips you with a practical, flexible framework for effective instruction, classroom management, assessment and collaboration in today's diverse classrooms. It is the first inclusion textbook with a consistent, integrated emphasis on UDL -- a key educational philosophy focused on using strategies and tools to help ALL students by accommodating their differences. Aligned with InTASC and CEC standards, this hands-on text delivers foundational information about children with disabilities included in today's classrooms as well as the most effective strategies for teaching them alongside their typically developing peers. Extensive coverage of Common Core State Standards is coupled with insightful case studies and sound research-based teaching and learning strategies.
Special Educational Needs by
This guide to inclusive practice covers contemporary policy issues, perspectives from practice and specialist guidance from across a wide range of common syndromes. Bringing together the important combination of theory, knowledge and practice, each chapter is written by experts from fields within Special and Additional Educational Needs. This third edition includes new chapters on: - The current context of SEN current context: in research and practice - Speech, language and communication - The role and use of technology in supporting learners with SEND - Pathological/Extreme Demand Avoidance (PDA/EDA) - Working together - Children and Young People's Perspectives Providing a solid foundation for understanding and supporting learners with additional needs, this comprehensive text is ideal whether you are a student, teacher or education practitioner.
Introduction to Special Educational Needs, Disability and Inclusion by
This essential textbook equips you with a strong understanding of theories, policies and practices and how they impact on Special Educational Needs and Disabilities, guiding you through your SEND course or modules. It provides you with the foundations and tools necessary to think critically about the issues and developments concerning SEND, inclusion, and professional practice. The book includes: - Material surrounding mental health in childhood and adolescence - Chapters on global perspectives of SEND, and assistive technologies - Practical case studies, reflection questions and activities - Spotlights on key theories and research - Up-to-date information on policies impacting SEND
The Secret Life of Decisions by
Making decisions is a critical part of every executive's job. However we know so little about the often subliminal processes that shape the decisions we make. The Secret Life of Decisions exposes the unchallenged myths and distortions that impact our reasoning ability, raising our awareness of the many traps we can fall into. Meena Thuraisingham and her collaborator, Wolfgang Lehmacher, have drawn from decades of work with leaders showing that even the most talented leaders and teams can end up making sub-optimal decisions. This is rarely because they had poor critical thinking faculties but rather because they did not pay enough attention to the often invisible traps hardwired into our thinking processes, letting through only information that conforms with our current beliefs, mental models and expectations. This leaves many leaders and businesses exposed. Rather than being the rational output of our reasoning abilities, the authors show decision making to be a highly imprecise process. As decision makers we come to the table armed with our own perspectives, preferences, filters, heuristics and biases, influenced by a broad range of social influences many operating subliminally. The Secret Life of Decisions is an essential read for developing and seasoned executives who have to work through increasingly complex and high stakes decisions. It treats choosing wisely and the thinking involved as a skill, which as with many other skills, can be improved with the guided practice and supporting tools provided here. The journey however starts with awareness that comes from outing the 'secret' forces that can sabotage the quality of our decisions.
Using Narratives and Storytelling to Promote Cultural Diversity on College Campuses by
Stories offer opportunities for listeners to merge the storyteller's experiences with their own, resulting in connections that can turn into life-changing experiences. As listeners and storytellers, it is imperative that we look more closely at the stories and narratives that shape our lives. Using Narratives and Storytelling to Promote Cultural Diversity on College Campuses is an essential research publication that offers a framework for identifying culture-based narratives. The book follows five college students through a vast array of divergent experiences and provides a comprehensive dialogue about diversity through personal narratives of college faculty, students, staff, and administrators. Highlighting a range of topics including microaggressions, ethnicity, and psychosocial development, this book is ideal for academicians, practitioners, psychologists, sociologists, education professionals, counselors, social work educators, researchers, and students.
E-Books
Navigating Differences by
Ethnic and religious differences, a widening socio-economic divide, tension between foreigners and locals. These are some of the contemporary challenges to integration in Singapore. How we navigate them will determine the type of society we become. This book gathers the best social scientists in Singapore to examine issues of ethnicity, religion, class, and culture in order to understand the many different fault lines that run across the multicultural city-state. These essays are written in an engaging manner and are designed to present the authors' expertise to a wider audience.
Inclusive Design for a Digital World by
What is inclusive design? It is simple. It means that your product has been created with the intention of being accessible to as many different users as possible. For a long time, the concept of accessibility has been limited in terms of only defining physical spaces. However, change is afoot: personal technology now plays a part in the everyday lives of most of us, and thus it is a responsibility for designers of apps, web pages, and more public-facing tech products to make them accessible to all. Our digital era brings progressive ideas and paradigm shifts - but they are only truly progressive if everybody can participate. In Inclusive Design for a Digital World, multiple crucial aspects of technological accessibility are confronted, followed by step-by-step solutions from User Experience Design professor and author Regine Gilbert. Think about every potential user who could be using your product. Could they be visually impaired? Have limited motor skills? Be deaf or hard of hearing? This book addresses a plethora of web accessibility issues that people with disabilities face. Your app might be blocking out an entire sector of the population without you ever intending or realizing it. For example, is your instructional text full of animated words and Emoji icons? This makes it difficult for a user with vision impairment to use an assistive reading device, such as a speech synthesizer, along with your app correctly. In Inclusive Design for a Digital World, Gilbert covers the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1 requirements, emerging technologies such as VR and AR, best practices for web development, and more. As a creator in the modern digital era, your aim should be to make products that are inclusive of all people. Technology has, overall, increased connection and information equality around the world. To continue its impact, access and usability of such technology must be made a priority, and there is no better place to get started than Inclusive Design for a Digital World. What You'll Learn The moral, ethical, and high level legal reasons for accessible design Tools and best practices for user research and web developers The different types of designs for disabilities on various platforms Familiarize yourself with web compliance guidelines Test products and usability best practices Understand past innovations and future opportunities for continued improvement Who This Book Is For Practitioners of product design, product development, content, and design can benefit from this book.
We're All in This Together by
"Mike Robbins shares tangible techniques that leaders and teams can use to excel, backs up his ideas with important research, and provides a road map for creating a team environment of personal connection and optimal performance." - Tom Rath, New York Times best-selling co-author of How Full is Your Bucket? Have you ever been on a team where the talent was strong, but the team wasn't very good? On the flip side, have you ever been on a team where not every single member was a rock star, but something about the team just worked? We've all had these types of experiences. And yet, it can be dif cult to understand what makes one team successful and another one not. In this book, Mike Robbins dives deep into the ways great businesses build trust, collaborate, and operate at their peak level. As an expert in teamwork, leadership, and emotional intelligence, Mike draws on more than 20 years of experience working with top companies like Google and Microsoft, as well as his baseball career with the Kansas City Royals. And, while each team and organization have their own unique challenges, goals, and dynamics, there are some universal qualities that allow teams to truly come together and thrive. The book's core principles include facilitating an environment of psychological safety, fostering inclusion and belonging, addressing and navigating conflict, and maintaining a healthy balance of high expectations and empathy. Throughout, Mike shares powerful exercises and tools he's successfully utilized in the keynote speeches, group sessions, and corporate retreats that he delivers, so that you and your team can communicate more authentically, give and receive feedback with skill, and create deeper connections. We're All in This Together also features personal stories and interviews with high-level business leaders and thought leaders to provide insights into an ever-changing workplace culture. "For us to do our best work, have the kind of impact we truly want to have, and unlock our full potential, we can't do it alone; we must do it together. If you and your team are willing to do what it takes, you can build and sustain an incredibly strong culture of trust and performance, and accomplish remarkable things." - Mike Robbins
How to Listen and How to Be Heard by
Named a Best Nonfiction Book of 2020 by Cosmopolitan! For anyone who has ever felt their voice isn't heard at work. This is a guide on how to empower yourself and others to communicate with people who think, act, and experience things differently than you do, and do so with more confidence, candor, and authenticity. Too often, people avoid difficult conversations; but these discussions often need to happen to bring people together so we can all succeed. There's no denying that our workplaces are more diverse than ever. Age, race, gender--there are so many different perspectives and experiences being brought to the table. And the best employees and leaders know that harnessing the power of these differences will build stronger teams, ideas, and organizations. But how do we do this? If we all think, feel, and act so differently, how do we get anything done? The first step is recognizing that these differences exist. And that they're here to stay. We need to respect and embrace our varied viewpoints, and then we can start to communicate across (not against) them. How to Listen and How to be Heard shows you how to bridge the conversation gap and use your unique voice to start powerful conversations. This book is about learning how to communicate with, through, and alongside what makes us different. It's about open dialogue and practical tools that get everyone on the same page--or at least in the same room. It's not about quick fixes or the absence of conflict; it's about working toward authentic communication in the workplace--for managers, employees, and colleagues from all fields. It's about remembering that we're all here to work together.
It's Time to Talk about Race at Work by
It's time the business world got the actionable, impactful, no-cost strategies needed to increase diversity and inclusion in the workplace Many white leaders want to create change but don't know how to do so appropriately and effectively. How do you know where the blind spots are that can create obstacles for people of color? Your intentions may be sincere and heartfelt, but intentions aren't enough. In It's Time to Talk about Race at Work, acclaimed speaker and bestselling author Kelly McDonald delivers a much-needed roadmap for business people. This book will help you successfully create a fair and equitable workplace that recognizes diverse talent and fosters productive and constructive conversations in your organization. It's Time to Talk about Race at Work does not approach diversity from the standpoint of social activism or an HR perspective. Instead, this book shows you exactly what to do and how to do it so that you can make real progress on diversity and inclusion, regardless of the size of your organization. The author's clear, "real talk" style makes it easy to learn: The costs and risks you're incurring if your organization lacks diversity How people who don't consider themselves to be racist may still have diversity blind spots How to start the hard conversations you may not know how to approach The STARTING Method--an eight-step framework that shows you how to ensure your diversity and inclusion efforts are effective How to recognize the excuses people use to avoid taking action on diversity and inclusion How to address the issues and comments that come up when employees feel nervous, resentful, or uncomfortable as you make headway on diversity in your organization Perfect for executives, managers, and leaders in organizations of all types and sizes, It's Time to Talk about Race at Work is also for employees who want to improve their organization by leading by example.
|
