More resources from SP Library.
eBooks/Books- Determine Information
[E-Book] Introduction to Information Literacy for Students by
Introduction to Information Literacy for Students presents a concise, practical guide to navigating information in the digital age. Features a unique step-by-step method that can be applied to any research project Includes research insights from professionals, along with review exercises, insiders' tips and tools, search screen images utilized by students, and more Encourages active inquiry-based learning through the inclusion of various study questions and exercises Provides students with effective research strategies to serve them through their academic years and professional careers Ensures accessibility and a strong instructional approach due to authorship by a librarian and award-winning English professor
ISBN: 9781119054870Publication Date: 2017
[E-Book] Combating Plagiarism: a Hands-On Guide for Librarians, Teachers, and Students by
The proliferation of resources now available through libraries and the internet requires a new set of information management skills in order for students to avoid plagiarism. While educators legitimately expect students to approach academic work with honesty and integrity, students need to be able to understand the context of their academic resources--both print and digital--well enough to use them appropriately and ethically. Combating Plagiarism helps middle and high school teachers and librarians understand and teach the authorship and publication process so students learn to use relevant information in an ethically and academically sound fashion. Terry Darr's long-term collaboration with a high school history teacher taught her the challenges faced by students conducting research--and by librarians and teachers tasked with teaching plagiarism prevention. Her book is full of tested concepts for teaching these complex topics, emphasizing our modern reliance on digital sources. An extensive student reference section covers common knowledge, fact, and opinion. A wealth of practical resources includes real-life examples from research papers as well as plenty of instructional materials, exercises, and lesson plans.
ISBN: 9781440865473Publication Date: 2019
Literacy Research Methodologies by
Different research methods can yield unique insights into literacy learning and teaching--and, used synergistically, can work together to move the field forward. Now revised and updated with 50% new material, this definitive text presents widely used methods and provides students and researchers with a clear understanding of when, how, and why they are applied. Leading authorities describe established and emerging methodologies, review the types of questions they are suited to address, and identify standards for quality. Key issues in research design are accessibly discussed. Each chapter offers one or more exemplars of high-quality published studies to illustrate the approach in action. The benefits of using multiple types of methods to more fully investigate a given question or problem are emphasized throughout. New to This Edition *Chapter on a vital new topic: critical race methodologies. *New chapters on core topics: design-based research, causal effects, ethnographic case studies, correlational designs, discourse analysis, instrument development, and verbal protocols. *Up-to-date coverage of online research methods, neuroimaging, and other rapidly evolving methodologies. *Many of the exemplary studies are new.
ISBN: 9781462544356Publication Date: 2020
[E-Book] Digital Fluency by
If you are curious about the basics of artificial intelligence, blockchain technology, and quantum computing as key enablers for digital transformation and innovation, Digital Fluency is your handy guide. The real-world applications of these cutting-edge technologies are expanding rapidly, and your daily life will continue to be affected by each of them. There is no better time than now to get started and become digitally fluent. You need not have previous knowledge of these versatile technologies, as author Volker Lang will expertly guide you through this digital age. He illustrates key concepts and applications in numerous practical examples and more than 48 catchy figures throughout Digital Fluency. The end of each chapter presents you with a helpful implementation checklist of central lessons before proceeding to the next. This book gets to the heart of digital buzzwords and concepts, and tells you what they truly mean. Breaking down topics such as automated driving and intelligent robotics powered by artificial intelligence, blockchain-based cryptocurrencies and smart contracts, drug development and optimization of financial investment portfolios by quantum computing, and more is imperative to being ready for what the future of industry holds. Whether your own digital transformation journey takes place within your private or public organization, your studies, or your individual household, Digital Fluency maps out a concrete digital action plan for all of your technology and innovation strategy needs. What You Will Learn Gain guidance in the digital age without requiring any previous knowledge about digital technologies and digital transformation Get acquainted with the most popular current and prospective applications of artificial intelligence, blockchain technology, and quantum computing across a wide range of industries including healthcare, financial services, and the automobile industry Become familiar with the digital innovation models of Amazon, Google, Microsoft, IBM, and other world-leading organizations Implement your own digital transformation successfully along the eight core dimensions of a concrete digital action plan Who This Book Is For Thought-leaders, business executives and industry strategists, management and strategy consultants, politicians and policy makers, entrepreneurs, financial analysts, investors and venture capitalists, students and research scientists, as well as general readers, who want to become digitally fluent.
ISBN: 9781484267738Publication Date: 2021
eBooks/Books- Retrieve Information
Media and Information Literacy in Higher Education by
This book investigates what university and college students need to know about searching for, and evaluating, information, and how teaching and learning can be planned and carried out to improve MIL skills.
Call Number: ZA3075 MedISBN: 9780081006306Publication Date: 2017- Digital Fluency by ISBN: 9781484267738Publication Date: 2021
eBooks/Books- Appropriately Use Information
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Call Number: BF76.7 AmeISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019
Using Sources Effectively by
Now in its fifth, expanded edition, Using Sources Effectively, Fifth Edition targets the two most prominent problems in current research-paper writing: the increase in unintentional plagiarism and the ineffective use of research source material. Designed as a supplementary textbook for both undergraduate and graduate courses, this book will help every student who uses research in writing. Included in this edition are coverage of research strategies and source selection (Chapter 2), a chapter on quoting sources effectively (Chapter 4), and a chapter on sentence patterns (Chapter 10). APA and MLA citation styles have been updated throughout the text. To the student: This book was written to give you the knowledge and tools you can use to make your research-based writing more powerful and effective. Here are some examples: Mini-Research Projects at the end of each chapter to sharpen your research and evaluation skills A set of practical, useful rhetorical devices to help improve the clarity and impact of your writing Increased emphasis on synthesis writing--weaving source use into your own thinking--to give your writing more interest and persuasive power Instruction in close reading to help you better grasp what an author is discussing or arguing Strategies for organizing and positioning your sources to strengthen your central argument.
Call Number: LB2369 HarISBN: 9781138289680Publication Date: 2017
eBooks/Books- Manage Online Info
The Basics of Cyber Safety by
Presents modern tactics on how to secure computer and mobile devices, including what behaviors are safe while surfing, searching, and interacting with others in the virtual world.
Call Number: QA76.9.A25 SamISBN: 9780124166509Publication Date: 2017
[E-Book] Cyber-Assurance for the Internet of Things by
Presents an Cyber-Assurance approach to the Internet of Things (IoT) This book discusses the cyber-assurance needs of the IoT environment, highlighting key information assurance (IA) IoT issues and identifying the associated security implications. Through contributions from cyber-assurance, IA, information security and IoT industry practitioners and experts, the text covers fundamental and advanced concepts necessary to grasp current IA issues, challenges, and solutions for the IoT. The future trends in IoT infrastructures, architectures and applications are also examined. Other topics discussed include the IA protection of IoT systems and information being stored, processed or transmitted from unauthorized access or modification of machine-2-machine (M2M) devices, radio-frequency identification (RFID) networks, wireless sensor networks, smart grids, and supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) systems. The book also discusses IA measures necessary to detect, protect, and defend IoT information and networks/systems to ensure their availability, integrity, authentication, confidentially, and non-repudiation. Discusses current research and emerging trends in IA theory, applications, architecture and information security in the IoT based on theoretical aspects and studies of practical applications Aids readers in understanding how to design and build cyber-assurance into the IoT Exposes engineers and designers to new strategies and emerging standards, and promotes active development of cyber-assurance Covers challenging issues as well as potential solutions, encouraging discussion and debate amongst those in the field Cyber-Assurance for the Internet of Things is written for researchers and professionals working in the field of wireless technologies, information security architecture, and security system design. This book will also serve as a reference for professors and students involved in IA and IoT networking. Tyson T. Brooks is an Adjunct Professor in the School of Information Studies at Syracuse University; he also works with the Center for Information and Systems Assurance and Trust (CISAT) at Syracuse University, and is an information security technologist and science-practitioner. Dr. Brooks is the founder/Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Internet of Things and Cyber-Assurance, an associate editor for the Journal of Enterprise Architecture, the International Journal of Cloud Computing and Services Science, and the International Journal of Information and Network Security.
ISBN: 9781119193784Publication Date: 2016
[E-Book] Digital Transformation by
Building Intelligent Enterprises by leveraging the emerging and next-generation technologies to accelerate the adoption of digital transformation The speed of innovation and emerging IT technologies are changing at a very fast pace and enterprises are eager to join the digital revolution so they can stand above the competition and succeed as the enterprise of tomorrow. This book is an attempt to make the enterprise intelligent by providing the path to digital transformation and the adoption of new IT methods, tools and technologies. This book has been organized to cover the following topics: Digital Transformation, Design Thinking, Agile, DevOps, Robotic Process Automation, Internet of Things, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Blockchain, Drones, Augmented and Virtual Reality, 3D Printing, Big Data, Analytics, Cloud Computing, APIs, and SAP Leonardo. No prior knowledge of any technical coding or language is necessary to understand the content of this book. End-to-end storyline to accelerate the enterprise's digital transformation journey How an enterprise can stay relevant, compete, and perform in the digital economy How to leverage these technologies to build intelligent enterprises Understand and apply the emerging technologies across key business processes Industry-specific Use Cases for all technologies as a reference point to build the business case for implementation The book is very well suited towards the C-Suite executives, both IT and business leaders, directors and managers, project managers, solution architects, and all professionals who have an interest and desire to keep up-to-date with the latest technological trends, looking for a career change, want to help enterprise adapt and onboard the digital roadmap, or have an agenda to digitize key processes within the enterprise to make it intelligent.
ISBN: 9781119540861Publication Date: 2019
eBooks/Books- Share Online Info
[E-Book] Emerging Technologies and Pedagogies in the CurriculumISBN: 9789811506185Publication Date: 2020
[E-Book] Learning to Collaborate, Collaborating to Learn by
Students learn collaboratively, and acquire the skills needed to organize and complete collaborative work, when they participate in thoughtfully-designed learning activities.
ISBN: 9781620368060Publication Date: 2019
[E-Book] Sharing Economy and Big Data Analytics by
The different facets of the sharing economy offer numerous opportunities for businesses ? particularly those that can be distinguished by their creative ideas and their ability to easily connect buyers and senders of goods and services via digital platforms. At the beginning of the growth of this economy, the advanced digital technologies generated billions of bytes of data that constitute what we call Big Data. This book underlines the facilitating role of Big Data analytics, explaining why and how data analysis algorithms can be integrated operationally, in order to extract value and to improve the practices of the sharing economy. It examines the reasons why these new techniques are necessary for businesses of this economy and proposes a series of useful applications that illustrate the use of data in the sharing ecosystem.
ISBN: 9781119694991Publication Date: 2020
Journal Articles
- Attributes of digital natives as predictors of information literacy in higher education. The purpose of the study was to test the predictive strength of some attributes of digital nativeness (ICT ownership, ICT experiences, internet confidence and number of ICT-rich university courses) on the information literacy (IL) of 299 Slovenian university students.
- Development of youth digital citizenship scale and implication for educational Setting Digital citizens need comprehensive knowledge and technological accessibility to the internet and digital world and teachers have a responsibility to lead them to become digital citizens.
- Digital literacy and digital fluency How to transform use of technology for appropriate age-specific, learner-centred, digital literacy to building digital fluent students who “can decide when to use specific digital technologies to achieve their desired outcome.
- Metacognitive scaffolding for online information search in K-12 and higher education settings: This article determines ways of helping students to best apply search strategies to achieve their search goals and the ability to search for and find information effectively and efficiently.
Databases
- Factiva Factiva's news and business information includes Dow Jones, Reuters and The Wall Street Journal, plus other global sources which provide news, historical articles, market research, investment analyst reports and stock quotes.
- Films on demand Provides online access to a wide collection of educational videos on many subject areas, including Art & Architecture, Business & Economics, Careers & Job Search, Communication, Education, Bioengineering, Computer Science, Materials Science, English & Language Arts, Environmental Science, Mathematics, Physical Science, Technology & Society, World Languages. The featured producers include BBC, CNBC, Cambridge Educational, Films for the Humanities & Sciences and Meridian Educational.
- Linkedln Learning An online library of instructional videos on software applications (including 3ds Max, After Effects, Dreamweaver, Excel, Flash, HTML, Illustrator, InDesign, Office and Photoshop), creative, education and business skills.Formerly known as Lynda.com.
- ProQuest Research Library Provides access to information from journals across a wide range of subject areas, including the arts, business, education, health, humanities, law, social sciences, and women's issues.
- Science Direct Collection of science, technology and medicine books, journals and abstracts including over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals and over 2,000 authoritative books, reference works, handbooks and book series. The books cover the core disciplines of life, physical, health and social sciences and humanities. Full-text articles are available for titles subscribed by the Library.